Handgun Permit Information
There are two types of handgun permits processed by the Sheriff's Office - Permits to Purchase a Handgun, and Permits to Carry a Handgun in public.
Information on Permits to Purchase a Handgun
The Washington County Sheriff's Office will process applications for permits to purchase a handgun from residents of Washington County who live in one of the following cities or townships:
Afton, Dellwood, Denmark Township, Grant, Hugo, Lake Elmo, Lake St. Croix Beach, Lakeland, Lakeland Shores, Mahtomedi, May Township, Marine on St Croix, New Scandia Township, Pine Springs, St. Mary's Point, Stillwater Township, West Lakeland Township, Willernie
Applicants who live in a city that is served by a full-time police department must contact their Police Department to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun.
Birchwood residents should contact the White Bear Lake Police Department. Landfall residents should contact the Maplewood Police Department.
Permit to Purchase applications must be submitted in person by the applicant with identification. Most persons can pick up, complete, and submit the application on one short visit to the Sheriff's Office. The permit will be mailed to the applicant upon approval.
Information on the Minnesota State Statute for Permits to Carry a Pistol
Application Packet is available in the download box on the top right
side of this page.
Please note that this PDF document has five pages - the Washington County checklist/instructions, three-page application, and the application receipt page. Please bring all pages with you along with your original ID and training documentation.
We will photo copy these items for the application and they will be
returned to you before you leave. You may bring your own photo
copies of your ID and training documentation and they will be
included in the application packet.
- Applications for Permits to Purchase firearms are processed by the local police agency that patrols your area.
- Applications for Permits to Carry a firearm will be processed by the Sheriff's Office.
- The Permit to Carry application fee in Washington County is $75.00.
Permit renewal is $55.00. (see below) The Sheriff Office will only accept
a personal check or cash in the exact amount of the fee for the permit.
The initial permit will be valid for five years.
- If you live in Minnesota, you must apply to the Sheriff of the county in which you live.
- Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
- Applicants must complete the state application, pay the fee, submit the form in person, and pass the background/criminal history check requirements.
- Applicants must provide proof of firearms training by a certified instructor that includes fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force.
- The Sheriff's Office must act on the application within 30 days of receipt of the completed application packet
- Permits issued in Minnesota are valid throughout Minnesota.
TRAINING REQUIREMENTS / INFORMATION:
The state statute requires that:
Applicants must provide proof of firearms training by a certified instructor that includes fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force.
Please note that training must have been completed no more than one year prior to your application date. You must be at least 21 years old to apply for a permit. In most cases, gun safety or hunter safety classes that have been offered in the past will not be valid for the permit process since most did not cover all aspects of the statute requirements. You must bring the original training certificate with you
or a clear photo copy when you submit your application. If you bring the
original certificate we will make a photo copy of it for the application packet
and return the original back to you.
A list of certified instructors is available on
the BCA Permit to Carry web site. Once you are at the BCA site, click on "Training Information" on the left side of the screen.
Since Washington County is not intending to duplicate the state's certification effort, the Sheriff's Office is reviewing training certifications individually to ensure that they meet the state requirements as published in the state statute.
Starting October 1, 2005, training certifications will be accepted only from
instructors approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
The Sheriff's Office is not able to recommend any particular instructor or course, and thus, does not have a list of courses and fees. If you are looking for training, you should contact the instructors and ask to ensure that they are certified and provide training in all of the topics required by the statute. Your local gun shop, range, or firearms dealer may have a list of classes that are being offered to meet the requirements of the new law.
Permit renewal. A permit to
carry issued under Minnesota Statue 624.714 expires fives years after the date
of issue. It may be renewed in the same manner and under the same criteria
which the original permit was obtained. A permit holder may apply for a new
permit 90 days prior to the expiration date on the permit. The fee for a permit
renewal from the Washington County Sheriff's Office will be $55.00 and
the Sheriff's Office must process the application with in 30 days.
For more information and frequently asked questions
regarding the state law, please visit the:
Minnesota Department of Public Safety web site